This Web book is based on public domain material provided by the US government and is available in several versions. See the editorial for more information.

Inner Mongolia

The southern part of traditional Mongolia; during the Qing Dynasty (1644-1911), comprised the provinces of Suiyuan, Qahar, and Rehol; the present-day Nei Monggol Autonomous Region of China (Outer Mongolia, q.v.).

Last Update: 2004-12-29