This Web book is based on public domain material provided by the US government and is available in several versions. See the editorial for more information.

Country - Survey

Formal Name: Mongolian People's Republic.

Short Form: Mongolia.

Term for Citizens: Mongolian(s).

Capital: Ulaanbaatar.

Date of Independence: March 13, 1921, from China. Formerly Outer Mongolia, a dependency of China, 1691-1911; autonomous state under Russian protection, 1912-1919; partially under Chinese control, 1919-21.

Last Update: 2004-12-29